tuesDAY – may 16, 1967

The Lake County Board of County Commissioners met in special session in the Commissioners’ Room in the Courthouse in Tavares on Tuesday, May 16, 1967 at 9:00 a.m. for the purpose of considering two matters brought to the attention of the Board by the State Road Department.

The Chairman called the meeting to order with the following members present:  Chairman Dykes, Commrs. Theus, Cowart, Livingston and Babb; Clerk Owens and Deputy Clerk Norma Coven.

roads - state

On recommendation of the Attorney and on motion of Commr. Cowart, seconded by Commr. Babb and carried, a resolution was adopted requesting the State Road Department to relocate a drainage ditch extending from SR 25 East to the Palatlakaha River, and the centerline thereof to be located as follows:  Begin on the centerline of the Easterly paved strip of said road at Station 552+53.29, and run thence North 89°36’ East to the Palatlakaha River, and the cost of relocating and excavating said ditch be charged against and paid from Secondary Funds due Lake County.

Outdoor recreational facilities

On motion of Commr. Livingston, seconded by Commr. Babb and carried, the Board adopted a resolution requesting the State Road Department to complete the Wayside Park on Lake Eustis, West of Tavares, by improving same with a permanent surface on the stabilized portion and constructing public toilets and by beautifying and landscaping the remainder of the park; and that upon completion Lake County will maintain the park and will pay, or cause to be paid, the cost of electric power necessary for adequate lighting required by the State Road Department.

Commr. Theus voted against the above resolution until the City of Tavares agrees by resolution to assume the cost of the maintenance and lighting of the park.  

There being no further business to bring before the Board, the meeting adjourned at 9:30 o’clock A.M.


___________________________________                          ______________________________

CLERK                                                                                   CHAIRMAN