friday – june 2, 1967

The Lake County Board of County Commissioners met in special session in the Commissioners’ Room in the Courthouse in Tavares on Friday, June 2, 1967 at 9:00 a.m. to receive budget requests for the fiscal year 1967-68.

The Chairman called the meeting to order with the following members present:  Chairman Dykes, Commrs. Theus, Cowart, Livingston and Babb; Clerk Owens and Doris Babb were also present.

County engineer

Letter of resignation from Gordon Hays, Jr., County Engineer, effective June 30, 1967, was accepted with regrets on motion of Commr. Cowart, seconded by Commr. Babb and carried.

Chairman Dykes stated, “This is the greatest loss to Lake County since I have been on the Board.  Mr. Hays is accepting a position with Polk County at an annual salary of $14,500.00.”

County employees

Letter of resignation from Nelia J. Burrow, Commodity Supervisor, effective June 9, 1967, was accepted on motion of Commr. Theus, seconded by Commr. Babb and carried.

Applications for the position of Commodity Supervisor were submitted; whereupon, on motion of Commr. Theus, seconded by Commr. Cowart and carried, Marycile L. Hunt was employed effective June 19, 1967 at a monthly salary of $490.00, same to be increased to $525.00 effective December 1, 1967.

On motion of Commr. Babb, seconded by Commr. Livingston and carried, Verna Eastwood’s salary was increased $75.00 per month effective immediately, and travel allowance of $75.00 per month to cease immediately.


Clerk Owens presented request from the Orange County Commission that Lake County include $10,000 in the budget for the Lake Apopka Restoration Program.  The Clerk was directed to notify Orange County that this Board will not budget funds for this program for 1967-68.

Other budget requests were heard in accordance with the schedule prepared by the Clerk, and all interested parties were advised the requests will be considered at a later date.



___________________________________                          ______________________________

CLERK                                                                                   CHAIRMAN