thursday, july 17, 1969

The Board of County Commissioners of Lake County, Florida, convened in special session in the Commissioners’ Room in the Courthouse, Tavares, Florida, on Thursday, July 17, 1969, at 10:00 o’clock A.M. for the purpose of hearing complaints concerning the budget and any other business which might be brought before the Board.

The meeting was called to order by the Chairman with the following members present:  Thomas J. Windram, Chairman; Commissioners James R. Carson, Jr., J. M. Hoskinson, Alex J. Macdonell and Kenneth VanAuken.  Others present were Clerk of Circuit Court Frank E. Owens, Deputy Clerk Doris Babb, and Deputy Clerk Norma H. Coven.


Before hearing complaints on the budget, the Board interviewed applicants for the position of telephone operator and receptionist – Mrs. Fay Hobbs, Mrs. Emily Helms and Mrs. Ivey.


The Chairman called for any objections to the tentative budget for 1969-70.  Mr. Cecil Hill was present and objected to any increase in the present millages.

Clerk Owens submitted letter from the Comptroller relative to the County’s participation in the indigent patient program.  Advised in talking with the Comptroller’s Office the Welfare Board has submitted the figure of $82,793 as the cost to Lake County, broken down as $72,631 for nursing home care and $10,162 for hospital in-patient services.  This figure will increase the tentative budget by a .21 mill.

After a lengthy discussion, Commissioner Carson moved that the millage in the General Fund be increased from 1.7293 mills to 1.9393 mills, making a total increase of $82,216.05, to comply with the instructions from the Comptroller’s office to finance the Medicaid program.  The motion was seconded by Commissioner Hoskinson.  The Chairman called for a roll call vote with the members voting as follows:

            Commissioner            Carson             Yes

                                                Macdonell       No

                                                Hoskinson       Yes

                                                Windram         Yes

                                                VanAuken       Yes


The Chairman declared the motion carried and the Clerk was authorized to forward the tentative budget to the Comptroller for final approval.

county employees

Clerk Owens presented letter from J. W. Bryant, Veterans Service Officer, advising that Melanie Young has been employed for the period July 14 – September 12, 1969 at a weekly rate of $60.00.

On motion of Commissioner Macdonell seconded by Commissioner VanAuken and carried, the Board approved the employment of Emily Helms for the position of receptionist and telephone operator effective August 4, 1969 at an annual salary of $3600.00.


On motion of Commissioner Carson seconded by Commissioner VanAuken and carried, the Board declared July 21, 1969 a holiday for County employees in honor of the astronauts landing on the moon.


Application to the W. T. Edwards Tuberculosis Hospital of Earl Gray was approved on motion of Commissioner Carson seconded by Commissioner Hoskinson and carried.

accounts allowed

On motion of Commissioner Carson seconded by Commissioner Hoskinson and carried, the Mosquito Control Director was authorized to purchase two-way radio unit with noise suppressor for the sum of $890.00.

On recommendation of Dr. Hall and on motion of Commissioner Hoskinson seconded by Commissioner Carson and carried, a Resolution was adopted requesting the State Board of Health to return to Lake County $3500.00 from funds collected from vital statistic fees to be used for the completion of the Tavares Health Center.

There being no further business to bring before the Board, the meeting adjourned.



___________________________________                                                                                                                                                                                      ______________________________

CLERK                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               CHAIRMAN