friday – JANUARY 23, 1970

The Board of County Commissioners of Lake County, Florida, met in special session in the Commissioners’ Room in the Courthouse, Tavares, Florida, on Friday, January 23, 1970, at 9:00 o’clock A.M. for the purpose of considering a request from the Department of Transportation for a Resolution authorizing repairs to Secondary Roads damaged as a result of the recent freeze.

The meeting was called to order by the Chairman with the following being present:  James R. Carson, Jr., Chairman; Alex J. Macdonell, J. M. Hoskinson, Thomas J. Windram, Kenneth VanAuken, Commissioners; and Clerk of Circuit Court Frank E. Owens.

roads – state

On motion of Commr. Windram seconded by Commr. Macdonell and carried, the Board adopted the following Resolution:

WHEREAS, the extreme cold affecting Central Florida brought freezing weather, which affected the surface of certain State Secondary Roads in Lake County, resulting in the cracking and breaking up of the surface of said roads, and

WHEREAS, in order to protect and preserve said roads it will be necessary to make some immediate repairs thereto, and

WHEREAS, the following roads have been surveyed for the purpose of determining the damage and estimating the cost of repair, to-wit:

Section 11570 SR S-452 – 9.3 miles – from SR 44 to the Marion County Line – estimated cost of repair $103,000.00.


Section 11530 SR S-466A extending from the Sumter County line to 0.5 miles East – estimated cost of repair $4,000.00.


NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of County Commissioners of Lake County, Florida, that the Department of Transportation be and it is hereby authorized and directed to expend from Secondary Gas Tax money allocated to Lake County, such sums as may be required to repair the above described roads.

There being no further business to bring before the Board, the meeting adjourned.


___________________________________                                                                                                              ______________________________

CLERK                                                                                                                                                                       CHAIRMAN