july 9, 1975

The Lake County Board of County Commissioners convened in special session on Wednesday, July 9, 1975, at 10:45 a.m., in the Commissioners’ Room, Courthouse, Tavares, Florida.  Present were:  J. M. Hoskinson, Chairman; Thomas J. Windram; C.A. “Lex” Deems; Glenn C. Burhans; and James R. Carson, Jr.  Others present were: James C. Watkins, Clerk; Christopher C. Ford, County Attorney; and Andrea Gambrell, Deputy Clerk.


Mr. Ford reported to the Board on information he had received regarding the possible purchase of Builder’s Risk Insurance by the County. He informed the Board that he had spoken to the Lassiter-Ware Insurance Company and that to obtain a reduction in the deductible amount of the insurance from $1,000 to $500 would be a $74 increase in the insurance premium which he felt was reasonable.

A point of concern among the Commissioners was the fact that the County would be responsible for material delivered and stored on the job site. The Board members were concerned over the possible double payment being paid by the County for the stolen materials. Mr. Ford stated that he had been informed by the Contractor that this is not a major worry but would ask Jack Jones, Architect, to appear before the Board and discuss this matte with them.

At this time Mr. Ford stated that the premium quotation he received from Lassiter-Ware Insurance Company for Builder’s Risk Insurance covered by Fireman’s Fund was $3,442.00 which included the Architects endorsement on Errors and Omissions and that this covers the entire $3.7 million project. At this time he stated that the other quotations obtained were in the amount of $9,634 and $6,729 which did not include the Errors and Omissions endorsement.

On a motion by Commr. Deems, seconded by Commr. Burhans and carried unanimously, the Board approved purchase of Builder’s Risk Insurance in the amount of $3,442.00 as suggested by the County Attorney with an effective date of July 15, 1975.

There being no further business to be brought before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 11:35 a.m.


J.M. Hoskinson, chairman



James C. Watkins, Clerk