OCTOBER 21, 2004

            The Lake County Board of County Commissioners held the 2004 State of the County Address on October 21, 2004, at 7:30 a.m., JoAnna Ballroom, Lake Receptions, Mount Dora, Florida. Commissioners present were: Debbie Stivender, Chairman; Jennifer Hill, Vice Chairman; Catherine C. Hanson; Welton G. Cadwell; and Robert A. Pool. Others present were: Sanford A. “Sandy” Minkoff, County Attorney; William “Bill” Neron, County Manager; Wendy Taylor, Executive Office Manager, Board of County Commissioner’s Office; James C. Watkins, Clerk of the Courts; Barbara Lehman, Chief Deputy Clerk, County Finance; and Toni M. Riggs, Deputy Clerk.


            Commr. Stivender welcomed everyone to the 2004 State of the County Address and recognized each of the Commissioners, as well as the following individuals: Mr. James C. Watkins, Clerk of Courts; Fred A. M. Cobb, Sheriff; Mr. Bill Neron, County Manager; Mr. Sandy Minkoff, County Attorney, Ms. Evelyn Smith, Mayor, City of Eustis; Mr. Glenn Irby, City Manager, City of Mascotte; Mr. Leo Vaughn, Mayor, City of Tavares; Dr. Charles R. Mojock, President, Lake-Sumter Community College; Mr. Bob McKee; Lake County Tax Collector; and Mr. Ed Havill, Lake County Property Appraiser.


            Honorable James C. Watkins, Clerk of Court, gave the Invocation.


            Honorable Fred A. M. Cobb, Sheriff, led the Pledge of Allegiance.


            Commr. Stivender explained that this year’s State of the County Address would be a macro media flash presentation, with the theme “Mapping Our Future.” As each person entered the building, they were presented with the Lake County 2003-2004 fiscal year annual report, which defined the vision of the Board of County Commissioners. The presentation consisted of various photographs of the County; factual information about each County Department; the status of various County projects; and a detailed description of County programs. Because of new technology and multimedia communication techniques, the citizens of the County can readily acquire information from web sites that now include many general forms.

            At the conclusion of the program, Commr. Stivender recognized Ms. Kelly LaFollette, Information Outreach Manager, and staff members of the Information Outreach Department, who put together the presentation.

            2004 WOMEN’S HALL OF FAME

            Commr. Stivender stated that today the County is inducting Ms. Effie Treadway into the Lake County Women’s Hall of Fame. She presented a brief outline of her life noting that Treadway Elementary was named after her. Her son, Mr. David Treadway, and daughter Ms. Mary Treadway Custar, were present to accept the award.


            Commr. Cadwell presented the Job Growth Incentive Awards to representatives of the following companies and recognized Ms. Dereith Sutten, Secretary to the Industrial Development Authority/Lake County Regional Director, Metro Orlando Economic Development Commission; Mr. Michael Bobroff, Executive Vice President, Orlando Economic Development Commission; and Dr. Charles R. Mojock, President, Lake-Sumter Community College, who are always willing to assist Lake County in any way possible to accomplish their goals:           C & C Pumping Inc.; Bailey Industries Inc.; Covenant Coach Inc.; Traymax Inc.; and Superior Concrete Construction LLC.

             CLOSING REMARKS

            In her closing remarks, Commr. Stivender extended her appreciation to the Commissioners, and sponsors, for their help in putting together another State of the County Address. She stated that the County faced many challenges this year, and it has overcome many stressful events, most recently, four hurricanes. Commr. Stivender wanted everyone to know that the County is not a mediocre County and that they are awesome, and they do a great job and they want to continue to do a great job. She asked that everyone continue to group together as a family and that the Commissioners continue to do what the taxpayers want them to do. Commr. Stivender noted that this is the tenth annual State of the County Address and that the event was originated by Commr. Hanson.


            The State of the County Address concluded at 8:30 a.m.






                                                                                    DEBBIE STIVENDER, CHAIRMAN